How to find a job in Edinburgh..?

Publié le par prince.melanie.over-blog.com

Such as in many countries, finding a job is not an easy thing..

Even if there are a lot of offers most of them required experiences.

 

job.gif

 

There are different ways to look at every professional opportunities; but here are my tips:

To begin with I have registered on several websites: gumtree, scottish jobs, caterer. Thus I have received many offers corresponding to my profile. Then I have send CVs and cover letters to companies offering jobs in marketing, sales and catering sectors in order to be in a position of customer relation. To my mind being in a customer environment should be the best way to improve my English.

 

One week later (in February !) I had my first job interview in a direct marketing company. The manager was a real Scottish man.. and as I previously mentioned the Scottish accent is really hard to understand.. Thus I was very embarrassed and ashamed  when I did not understand a question .. so I answered with a short answer "yeah" or "no" according to the tone of his voice with which he had asked the question. At the end of the interview, I was honest with him confessing with a big smile that I did not understand everything. I think  this great smile has played an important role, because... I got the job!

My training has started the next day. The team was really nice and worked in a fun environment. The day started with meetings and conferences, then training for the new members. I have learned a lot during these trainings about the different ways to contact customers, with professional advices, the good attitude to adopt alwys taking control... Then I have learned a basic pitch for the customer approach. At the beginning of the afternoon the real day starts! In several aeras our role was to sell ! The product that was in game was a service in reality: a package with line rental, calls, broadband and television. It was really interesting to meet different people and try to convince them. Even if it is easier than in France, people are still reluctant to door to door sellers. At 9 pm the day was finished and we came back to the offices to talk about our day. Indeed after some weeks I realized it was really tiring and I needed to focus on my exams.. That's why I have explained my reasons of leaving to the manager who totally understand that I had to focus on my studies.

 

It was a really rich experience that I didn't regret: I have learned a lot about sales secrets and customer relations, and I have met many interesting and smart people !

 

I didn't stop my research to find another job and I have tried a different way: the direct way ! Indeed I have brung many CVs in different restaurants and pubs; however a lot of them didn't need waitress at the moment.

 

After two months of research I have decided to make my internship in a charity shop which really needs volunteers. Moreover it is a really good opportunity to increase our level of English and develop our sense of responsabilities.

 

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article