My internship in a charity shop

Publié le par prince.melanie.over-blog.com

It's time to talk about my internship !

 

As previously mentioned, I am working in a charity shop since more than one month now. Thus it is not a paid job but a volunteering position. First of all let's define this term:

 

A charity shop is a shop that sells used goods cheaply and gives its profits to a charity.

 

I have choosen a charity shop which gives its profits to the Cancer Research UK. It's the world's leading charity dedicated to beating cancer through research.

 

cancer-research-uk-1.jpg

 

 

Among the wide range of association which exist in Edinburgh I chose this one because it is a cause for which I am really sensitive. Cancer research UK association aims is to ensure more people survive cancer.

They receive no government funding for their research; everything (live-saving work of the researcher, nurses, doctors) depends on the generosity and support of people.

  

How to help them? Making a donation, leaving a legacy, taking part in their events, being volunteer, visiting the shops. In the UK there are nearly 600 shops where people can buy or donate goods.They have even launched theur own online shopping site .

 

To learn more about this association, please follow this link .

 

 

My charity shop is situated in Nicolson Street, thus near the city centre. It's a street where you can't miss a charity shop: each 10 meters you can meet one !

Each day I am working with Holly the manager, Kay the assistant manager, and around five to ten other volunteers.

 

charity-shop.jpg

 

 

As a shop assistant my tasks are various :

 

  • Provide excellent customer service to everyone who visits the shop
  • Organize the presentation of the store and window displays, restocking shelves
  • Cash handling
  • Select and prepare the best clothes, shoes and accessories for sale

 

Thus I have the opportunity to take several professional responsabilities and also improve my English thanks to the contact with customers.



Moreover there is a real friendly ambiance between employees and volunteers who are students or retired people.



 

I am really happy to meet this team. It is also true for regular customers that I know better and better !

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article